Vermilion Parish Library | Databases

64 Parishes

64 Parishes is a project of the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities. Since 1971, LEH has partnered with communities, institutions, and individuals to explore Louisiana’s past, present, and future.

A to Z Maps Online offers over 145,000 maps available for viewing, downloading or even printing. Maps that cover every part of the world, USGS maps, climate maps, earthquake and volcano maps, even flags of various countries.

AtoZ The USA

AtoZ the USA offers in-depth e-content in 156 data categories with 50+ maps for each state. It has thousands of U.S. state reports and articles ready to download, royalty-free image collections of flags, vintage postcards, panoramic photos, license plates, and much more.

AtoZ Food America

With thousands of international recipes, hundreds of fascinating culture and ingredient articles, and essential culinary resources, AtoZ World Food brings international cuisines to you, from Albanian byrek to Zimbabwean matemba!

AR Book Finder

Students, teachers, parents, and librarians can search in English or Spanish using criteria such as ATOS book level or a Lexile™ measure, interest level, title, author, fiction/nonfiction, subject, award-winners, state lists, CCSS Exemplars, and more.

Auto Repair Reference Center

Auto Repair Reference Center features repair and maintenance information on thousands of domestic and imported vehicles from 1954 to present, millions of drawings and step-by-step photographs, thousands of technical service bulletins and recalls, and diagnostic information.

BookFlix

BookFlix® combines Weston Woods animated stories with best-selling Scholastic nonfiction ebooks to create an engaging, interactive reading experience. It enhances vocabulary, fluency, and early literacy while building real-world knowledge for beginning and developing readers. (Ages 3-8)

Britannica eBooks

Hundreds of full color and black and white non-fiction e-books for ages preschool to 18.

DigitalLearn.org

Basic instruction in computers, email, social media and more!

DMV Practice Tests

Practice your knowledge of Louisiana driving laws with more than a dozen FREE practice tests using actual questions from state DMV written tests. There are even sections for motorcycle practice tests, CDL (commercial driver’s license) and online driving manuals. A FREE service from your public library!

Educate Station

Educate Station content is created by a team of experienced and passionate educators who bring vast subject-matter expertise, teaching credentials, and many years of experience as classroom teachers and curriculum developers.

Gale eBooks

Literary criticism, author biographies and business resources. Includes Twayne’s and Scribner.

Gale Legal Forms

Thousands of legal forms available with more forms being added daily. Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.

Gale Presents: Udemy

Gale Presents: Udemy can help improve your career skills or further develop a personal interest with access to thousands of continuously updated, on-demand video courses. Explore the many options across 75 categories in business, tech, and personal development taught by world-class instructors.

Global Road Warrior

This is a massive database of constantly updated proprietary editorial and graphics for 175 countries of the world. It provides deep content coverage in major topic areas of society and culture, travel, communications, business, trade, marketing, and security.

Homework Louisiana

Homework Louisiana offers a Live Online Tutor, Skills Builder, Homework help and tutoring for K through basic college level. Assistance with Writing, Careers and Adult Education too.

LearnFree.org

More than 750 free classes and 250 tutorial videos covering subjects ranging from technology (Microsoft Office, computer and tablet basics, Internet and social media skills) to reading and math.

Legal Links

A collection of websites to help with law and legal issues.

Louisiana Digital Library

An online library of over 144,000 digital materials about Louisiana’s history, culture, places, and people.

Louisiana Library Connection

More than 30 additional databases provided statewide to Louisiana residents through public libraries including many free streaming audiobooks, Louisiana Digital Library (more than 144,000 photographs, maps, and documents pertaining to Louisiana history),. Use your library card for access.

Louisiana Public Documents Digital Archive

Collection of more than 20,000 Louisiana born-digital public documents, most since 2002. Located in the digital resources repository of the State Library of Louisiana.

Louisiana Workforce Commission

LWC in partnership with Coursera is providing access to in-demand career skills to help you upskill for the future of work.

Mango Languages

Learn over 70 world languages and 20 English courses. Mango is accessible in the library and at home via web or mobile apps for iOS and Android phones and tablets.

Momentrix eLibrary

Mometrix eLibrary offers study materials for over 1,400 different standardized exams including high school, college, and graduate school admissions exams, and certification exams for teachers, nurses, civil service, and many other career paths. Study materials include study guides with instructional videos, interactive flashcards, and interactive practice tests.

Newsbank

Get your FREE digital copy of the Abbeville Meridional Newspaper and VermilionToday.com provided by the Vermilion Parish Library! . Use your library card for access.

Power My Learning

Terrific index of FREE interactive activities for students K-12 including all levels of math, language arts, science, social studies, art & music, technology, world languages, careers, college, personal finance, goal setting and more!

Salem Health

Explore the resources of the Salem Press health database, with hundreds of articles and illustrations on human health and medicine. Reference sets include: Cancer, Genetics, Infectious Diseases & Conditions, Psychology & Mental Health, and more! Use your library card for access.

Salem History

Curated free content from Salem Press and Grey House Publishing to explore current events through an historical lens. Use your library card for access.

Salem Literature

Search more than 10,000 plot summaries and critical analyses of classic literary works, including key characters and themes, in Masterplots. A FREE service from your public library! Use your library card for access.

Salem Science

Browse eight valuable science databases at once including Applied Science, Earth Science (Earth’s Surface & History, Physics & Chemistry of the Earth), Forensic Science, The Solar System, and the Encylopedia of Environmental Issues, Global Resources, and Global Warming. Use your library card for access.

ScienceFlix

ScienceFlix® transforms how students explore science, technology, and engineering concepts across six areas of study. Featuring curriculum-aligned leveled content and interactive tools, it deepens students’ understanding of science through hands-on projects, videos, diverse text formats, and more. (Ages 10-15)

TrueFlix

TrueFlix® is a highly engaging multimedia resource that supports science and social studies instruction. Engaging videos and Scholastic ebooks are enhanced by a diverse reservoir of related content in a variety of text types and media—including primary sources, fiction, videos, audio clips, images, and more. (Ages 8-11)